Washington, D.C.— U.S. Representative Andy Barr (KY-06) signed onto a letter led by U.S. Representative Kevin Hern (OK-01) calling on failed U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas to resign from his position in President Biden’s Cabinet following a year of crisis and failure at our Southern border, putting millions of Americans in danger.

Under Mayorkas’ leadership, the Remain in Mexico Policy is being largely ignored, despite court orders to restore the program. Border apprehensions have more than tripled over FY 2020, while deportations have dropped by 70%. Additionally, FY 2021 saw over 100,000 fentanyl overdose deaths, the first time that many have been recorded in a single year. Border agents apprehended over 11,000 pounds of fentanyl at the border in FY 2021.

Fourty-four additional Members of the House of Representatives joined Rep. Barr on the letter, including: Brian Babin (TX-36), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Tom Tiffany (WI-07), Tom Rice (SC-07), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Bob Good (VA-05), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Scott Perry (PA-10), Ronny L. Jackson (TX-13), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Randy Weber (TX-14), Mary Miller (IL-15), Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Chris Jacobs (NY-27), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Jerry L. Carl (AL-01), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Ben Cline (VA-06), Matthew Rosendale, Sr. (MT-AL), Barry Moore (AL-02), Victoria Spartz (IN-05), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Roger Williams (TX-25), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Byron Donalds (FL-19), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Bill Posey (FL-08), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Greg Murphy (NC-03), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Chip Roy (TX-21), John Rose (TN-06), August Pfluger (TX-11), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Carlos Giménez (FL-26), and Russ Fulcher (ID-01).


The text of the letter can be found here and below.