Lexington, KY— The Commonwealth of Kentucky was approved for an expanded federal disaster declaration to assist in recovery efforts for severe flooding in February and March of 2021.  U.S. Representative Andy Barr (KY-06) advocated strongly for the expanded declaration in a letter sent to U.S. President Joe Biden in April. 

The expanded disaster declaration extends relief to homeowners, renters and small businesses from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). 

Sixth District homeowners and renters in Anderson, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Madison and Woodford Counties are now eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance (IA).  You can read more about the IA program here.  Small businesses in these counties will also be eligible for low-interest loans from the SBA.  More information on the SBA resources available here.  Sixth District residents in Powell and Estill counties were already eligible for these resources through the original federal disaster declaration issued in April. 

“Expanding the federal response to floods in February and March will help speed up recovery efforts.  Families, small businesses and residents throughout our Commonwealth have displayed incredible resilience over the last few months,” said Representative Barr.  “Although I share the frustration that many of my constituents have with the delay in submitting the request, I am pleased these resources will now be available.  My office will continue to be a resource as we recover from these historic floods.”