Washington, D.C.– Tonight, U.S. Congressman Andy Barr (KY-06) voted for and the U.S. House of Representatives unanimously approved legislation awarding a posthumous Congressional Gold Medal to each of the thirteen fallen U.S. military servicemembers killed in a terrorist attack at the Hamid Karzai International Airport on August 26, 2021.  These fallen heroes were defending Americans and our Afghanistan allies who were evacuating Afghanistan after the Taliban takeover of the country.    

“Thirteen heroic military servicemembers gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure that American citizens and our Afghan allies could escape the threat of the Taliban, ISIS, and other terrorist actors in Afghanistan during the withdrawal.  I proudly cosponsored and voted tonight for the bill awarding these patriots the Congressional Gold Medal. The legacy of these American heroes will never be forgotten,” said Congressman Barr.

This legislation will now go to the U.S. Senate for consideration.  The names of the fallen servicemembers receiving the posthumous Congressional Gold Medal are below:

  • Navy Corpsman Maxton Soviak, 22, of Berlin Heights, Ohio
  • Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, 20, of Norco, California
  • Lance Cpl. David Espinoza, 20, of Rio Bravo, Texas
  • Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, 20, Jackson, Wyoming
  • Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, 20, of Wentzville, Missouri
  • Cpl. Hunter Lopez, 22, of Indio, California 
  • Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, 31, of Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Cpl. Daegan William-Tyeler Page, 23, of Omaha, Nebraska
  • Sgt. Nicole Gee, 23, of Roseville, California
  • Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, 22, Logansport, Indiana
  • Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, 20, of Rancho Cucamonga, California
  • Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, 25, Lawrence, Massachusetts and
  • Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss, 23, of Corryton, Tennessee